As of May 2022, Snapchat boasts around 319 million daily active users worldwide, according to statistics by Statista. This suggests that the app is becoming more popular by the day. It’s an app that emphasizes living in the moment, and one feature that exemplifies this is “Snapchat story.”
After 24 hours, stories are automatically deleted. Sometimes, the 24-hour interval that your Snapchat story is supposed to last is just too short to keep it going — then it’s time to delete your story. There is, however, no supreme erase button for the entire story. You’ll have to pick which ones to remove and which, if any, to keep Snap by Snap.
Now, let’s take a good look at everything you need to know about deleting a Snap from your story.
How To Save A Snapchat Story
Before we get to deleting snaps, you need to know how to save them, just in case. Remember that once a snap is erased, it can’t be recovered. As a result, it’s necessary to be careful with your photos.
Simply press the download icon in the row of icons next to “My Story” to begin. This will save all of the photos in your story to the phone’s camera roll.
If Snapchat doesn’t already have access to your camera roll, a pop-up window will appear requesting permission to store snaps to the camera roll. Select “Yes”. You’ll be led to the Settings menu on your phone, where you can change Snapchat’s permissions.
If you’re not interested in saving the entire story, you just want to save a snap or two inside it. There’s a solution for that also.
- To see all of the photos, expand “My Story”.
- Tap the photo you wish to save.
- In the lower-left corner, tap the download icon.
This, like the story, will save the photo to your camera roll. You may need to grant Snapchat permission to carry out this action.
How To Delete Your Snapchat Story
- Open the Snapchat app and, if necessary, sign in to your account.
- In the top-left corner of the screen, tap the profile symbol.
- To view your Snapchat story, tap “My Story.”
- Swipe up from the bottom of the screen once you see the Snap you want to remove.
- To erase that snap from your story, tap the trash can symbol in the bottom left corner of the screen.
- Steps four and five should be repeated as you need until all the undesired Snaps have been removed from your Snapchat story.
In the unlikely event that your snap story is still visible in your area the next day, even after deleting it, try this method to make a quick fix.
- Find the snap that’s being a bit stubborn using the “Search” or the “Snap Guide” option.
- Hold down the button.
- It’ll provide you with some options. In the lower-left corner, tap the “Trash” icon.
- To erase the snap, select your reason for erasing.
- This pretty much up the steps to delete a Snapchat story whenever you need to.
It’s great that you now know to delete Snaps from My Story, but on the off chance that you don’t know how to access your story to see available photos. It’s a simple process.
Swipe right on your Snapchat camera. You would be able to view the stories of people you are following. You should also be able to see your own.
In case you don’t want to go through any of what’s listed above, the rule of thumb is to think twice before posting anything. Unfortunately, you can’t erase the memories of those who have already seen your stories by the time you decide to delete them. Pending any advancements concerning memory wiping, we’ll have to stay on our toes.
Frequently Asked Questions
When your story reader plays it again, Snapchat doesn’t notify you. You also can’t see how many times someone replays your story on their phone. When you check the views on your Story, you’ll only see the number of people who watched it and their identities.
If you notice two overlapping arrows, it signifies that someone has screenshotted your article. You should be able to see a list of people who have seen your story and taken a screenshot of it.
Snapchat doesn’t notify you when someone views your Snap Map location, but it does display everyone’s location when you open the Snap Map from your camera. As a result, Snapchat is generally unable to show who views your location.