Facebook MessengerMessaging

Why Do Messenger Calls Show on Call Log?

Why Do Messenger Calls Show On Call Log

Messenger can access your phone contacts if you let it. But can your Messenger appear on your call log? The answer is yes. So, why do Messenger calls appear on the call log?

Quick Answer

Although Messenger doesn’t use your phone number to make or receive calls, you may see Messenger calls on your call log. It can happen if you let Messenger access your contacts. The calls will either appear as incoming or outgoing calls.

We need to know what happens to our Messenger calls. Today’s article will cover why Messenger calls may appear on your call logs. 

Do Messenger Calls Appear on Call Logs?

Facebook Messenger is a great way to get in touch with family or friends. The calls are free. You only need data to call or receive a call. 

Ideally, your Messenger calls should not appear on your call log (depending on the opinion, of course). But Messenger has some privacy issues, like logging your calls and texts.

We’ve seen countless reports of people complaining about seeing calls they make or receive via Messenger on their call logs. 

Messenger has no relationship with your call register. Therefore, you shouldn’t be seeing Messenger calls on your call log.

However, you may see Messenger’s outgoing and incoming calls on your log if you let Messenger access your contact list.

How To Prevent Messenger Calls from Appearing on Your Call Log?

Although Messenger uses your contact list to suggest new friends, Messenger can collect lots of sensitive data from your contacts.

You can stop Messenger from logging your calls and texts by disabling Messenger’s contact syncing. Also, deny it from accessing your contacts

How To Turn Off Contact Syncing?

Turn off contact syncing on Messenger as follows. 

On Android Devices

To turn off contact syncing on Messenger on your Android device, follow these steps:

  1. Open Messenger on your Android device.
  2. Tap your profile picture in the top left corner.
  3. Scroll down and select “Phone contacts.”
  4. Select “Upload contact.”
  5. Tap the “Turn off” button.

On iOS Devices

To turn off contact syncing on Messenger on your iOS device, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Settings app on your iPhone.
  2. Scroll down and select “Messenger.”
  3. Disable the “Contacts” toggle.

Alternatively:

  1. Open the Messenger app on your iOS device.
  2. Tap on your profile picture in the top left corner.
  3. Tap “Phone contacts.”
  4. Select “Upload contacts.”
  5. Tap the “Turn Off” button.

On Messenger Lite 

To turn off contact syncing on the Messenger Lite app, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Messenger Lite app on your mobile device. 
  2. Tap the gear icon.
  3. Tap “People.”
  4. Tap “Sync phone contacts” and turn it off. 

How To Delete Contacts from Messenger?

You can also prevent Messenger calls from sneaking into your call register by deleting the contacts uploaded to Messenger. Delete them as follows. 

On Android Devices

To delete contacts from Messenger on your Android device, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Messenger app on your Android device.
  2. Tap your profile picture in the top left corner.
  3. Go to “Phone contacts.”
  4. Select “Manage contacts.”
  5. Tap the “Delete all contacts” button. 

You’ll see a “Your imported contacts are being deleted” on the screen once you click the “Delete all contacts.”

On iOS Devices

To delete contacts from Messenger on your iOS device, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Messenger app on your iOS device.
  2. Tap your profile picture in the top left corner.
  3. Tap “Phone contacts.”
  4. Select “Manage contacts.”
  5. Tap “Delete all contacts.”

On Messenger Lite

To delete contacts on Messenger Lite, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Messenger Lite app on your mobile device.
  2. Go to “Chats” and tap your profile icon
  3. Tap “Phone contacts.”
  4. Select “Manage contacts.”
  5. Tap “Delete all contacts.”

Messenger doesn’t provide a way to delete a single contact. But you can restrict or block someone to limit your interactions with them on Messenger.

How To Block or Restrict Someone?

Here is how to block or restrict a contact on Messenger.

On Messenger App

The process is similar on both Android and iOs devices. Follow these steps:

  1. Launch the Messenger app on your mobile device. 
  2. Pick a conversation or contact you’d wish to block or restrict. 
  3. Click the user’s profile icon
  4. Move to the bottom and select either “Restrict” or “Block.”

On Messenger Web

Follow these steps:

  1. Open Messenger on your favorite browser.
  2. Hover over the user you wish to block.
  3. Tap the three-dotted button. 
  4. Click on “Block.”

You won’t see a “Restrict” button on Messenger web. 

Last Thoughts 

Facebook Messenger can log your texts or calls if it can access your contacts. It can also log your Messenger texts and calls. The logging puts you at risk of being tracked or someone accessing your Messenger call or text history.

So, you’ll have to deny Messenger access to your contacts. Consider turning off the contacts uploading function on Messenger to stop Messenger calls from showing up on your call log. Also, consider deleting all the contacts imported to Messenger. 

FAQs

Can I view my Facebook Messenger history?

Yes, you can. You’ll need to download all your history on Facebook Messenger. Open Messenger and go to account settings. Scroll to “Your Facebook information” and tap “Download your information.” Check the “Messages” and “Activity Messages” options from the list of items given and select “Create File.” Messenger will notify you once the files are available. When you get the availability notification, go to “Download Your Information.” Tap on the “Available Copies” option and download the Messenger history.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top