Snapchat keeps its users updated whenever any action concerning their account happens.
If you are not friends with someone, you cannot view their profile or do anything on their account. When you receive an “added me back” notification on Snapchat, you may wonder if that means you are friends with the other party.
If you have received such a notification and want to know what it means, read this post.
When you receive an “added you back” message on Snapchat, you can send snaps to the person. Snapchat users receive notifications when someone has accepted them as their friends. Therefore, it means you had added that person before as your friend, and the moment you received the notification is when they added you to their friend list.
It is easy to tell when someone adds you as their friend on Snapchat, and one way of confirming it is when you receive the “added you back” notification. In this guide, we will explain when users receive the notification, what it means and how to confirm that they are now friends with someone and can share snaps.
When Do You Receive “Added Me Back” on Snapchat?
The “added me back” notification is common to be experienced on Snapchat.
You may have broken up with your ex and received the notification that they added you back. In such an instance, your ex removed you from their friend list and later added you as a friend.
When someone removes you as a friend, but you did not remove them, then they later add you as their friend, and you will receive the notification.
Moreover, if you had added someone as your friend, but they had not accepted the request to add you as their friend and then, later on, add you as a friend, you will receive the notification.
What Does “Added Me Back” Mean on Snapchat?
“Added Me Back” on Snapchat means you are now friends with the other person on Snapchat.
Snapchat allows its users to send snaps and messages to people who are their friends. If you add a person and they don’t add you back, still you will not send them snaps.
But once you receive the added you back notification, you can freely send that person a snap and view her friends.
How Do I Confirm My Friend Request Was Accepted on Snapchat?
If you added someone as your friend on Snapchat and wondering if they added you back as their friend, there is an easy way of knowing it.
You can use the following methods to confirm you are friends with another person on Snapchat.
Method #1: Check your Friend List on Snapchat
Snapchat offers no direct way of knowing when you were added as a friend by someone unless you receive the added-back notification.
However, when you check your friend list on Snapchat, you can know who added you as their friend later.
- Launch Snapchat on your phone.
- Click on the Bitmoji icon on top of the screen.
- Navigate downwards and click “My Friends” from the “Friends” section.
- Click on the search bar and search for the username of your friend.
- Alternatively, please navigate through the list and check for their username.
If their username is shown after you search, it means they added you back as their friend, and you can message each other.
Method #2: View the Snap Score of the Other Party
Checking someone’s snap score can enable you to find out if they added you as their friend.
According to Snapchat, only friends can see each other’s snap scores.
If you are not friends, it means any of you cannot view the snap score until you both add each other as friends.
- Launch Snapchat on your phone.
- Navigate to the “My Friends” section.
- Tap on the person’s profile.
- View under the Bitmoji icon and check if you can see the snap score.
If you can see the snap score, that person has added you as their friend. Otherwise, that person has not yet added you as their friend. The application may have an issue if you receive a notification that you have been added back but cannot see the snap score. Restart the application or try to check the app later and confirm their snap score.
Snapchat is a great platform for catching up and interacting with your friends securely.
Unlike Facebook and Instagram, Snapchat only allows users that have followed each other to send snaps and messages to each other.
If you added someone as your friend and are unsure if they added you back, this guide has explained how you can know that.
Moreover, it has explained what added you back means on Snapchat and when users receive the notification.