TikTokSocial Media

How To Post a Private Video on TikTok

how to post a private video on tiktok

The kind of exposure TikTok offers and the accessibility the platform gives to anyone with a phone is one for the history books.

TikTok’s appeal lies mainly in its ability to make people go “viral”.

But what if you want to post your videos privately, so the entire world doesn’t see them?

Quick Answer

TikTok allows you to post and share videos privately. To post videos privately on TikTok, you need to tap on the padlock icon that appears on your screen just before posting your video. You can choose your preferred audience by clicking on “Privacy Settings”. 

TikTok has been under fire multiple times for its terms of security which is why some of its users might prefer to keep their content to themselves.

Follow these simple steps to post private videos on TikTok and go crazy without the fear of perception!

How To Make Your Videos Private on TikTok

TikTok has become more influential than platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, and Snapchat. The app’s number of downloads can give you a rough idea of how many people are on the video-sharing platform. 

The innovative video format has captured the attention of different audiences worldwide, ranging from teenagers to people over 40 years of age. But with enormous success comes an even bigger responsibility – the responsibility to protect the content and privacy of its users.

With accounts of users getting hate and even threats with the videos they post, it is essential to protect your privacy. You can do that by controlling the audience that views your videos. If you think TikToks posted can only be shared publicly, we’re here to show you how to share your videos privately!

Here’s how you can do that:

  1. Open the TikTok app and make sure you log in.
  2. Make a video, and before posting it, tap on the padlock icon, which also says “Who can watch this video” on your screen.
  3. Three options will appear on your screen. Select the option that says “Only Me”.
  4. You can now view this video by clicking on your profile and the lock icon. This will display all of your privately posted videos. 

There’s that for videos that only you can view. What about when you want to post a video that can be viewed by only the exclusive number of people that follow you? 

How To Make Your TikToks Visible to Your Followers

You can also share your TikToks with your friends only without posting them publicly.

Follow these steps to share videos with a selected audience: 

  1. Open your TikTok account and record a video.
  2. After recording, tap on the padlock icon, which also says “Who can watch this video” on your screen. 
  3. Tap on “Friends” and post the video. 

The TikTok posted on your account will only be visible to the people you follow on the app.

Information

Your “Friends” on TikTok are different from your “Followers”. “Friends” are people you follow back, while “Followers” are just the people that follow you. 

This distinction comes in handy when deciding to update your privacy settings, as making the videos you post to your followers can be risky if you are wanting to post private videos.

Even though TikTok’s charm lies in the exposure and the reach it provides to content creators and the viral element of it all, it can still be used as a fun app to share TikToks just with your friends or family.

This feature lets you record memories just for yourself and save them onto your TikTok account for safekeeping so you can go back and reminisce without worrying about going public.  

Conclusion

The private posting feature of TikTok is handy for young adults and teens who can use the app to unleash their creativity while still being protected online.

This is important become this has been an issue in the past with multiple social media platforms, especially TikTok, which fails to regulate audience comments and results in dangerous consequences for kids. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Can you unprivate a TikTok video?

Yes! You can unprivate your TikTok video the say way you put it in private. Simply go to the posted TikTok and click on the three dots on your screen’s right side. From the options that appear, click on “privacy settings” and choose the setting you want. It’s that simple!

If your TikTok is private, can you be on the “For You” page?

No. If your TikTok is posted privately or just for your friends to see, your video will not appear on TikTok’s For You page. The “For You” page only shows videos that are posted publicly. 

Where do my private videos go on TikTok?

Your private videos remain on your profile, just in a different section. You can view the TikToks you have posted privately by tapping on the lock icon on your profile. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top