FacebookSocial Media

How To Turn Off Restricted Mode on Facebook

how to turn off restricted mode on facebook

Facebook is adding new features to ensure its users get the best out of the platform. Facebook allows you to decide what restrictions you want to add to your account.

It could be that you only want a given age bracket or people from a given country to view your content. Besides, you can restrict which friends view your post and all that can be done on your profile settings.

Quick Answer

Facebook restricted mode enhances your privacy when using the platform, and the best part is that you can choose when to turn it on or off. There are various restrictions, and turning them off depends on the type. For instance, if it’s an age restriction, you can open the settings page and choose to set it public for everyone to view the content irrespective of their age.

This guide presents what restricted mode is and the various types of restricted mode offered by Facebook. We will discuss how to enable and turn off restricted mode on Facebook based on country, age, and friends list. Keep on reading.

What Does Restricted Mode Mean on Facebook?

Restricted Mode is a Facebook privacy feature that allows users to decide who has access to their posts. With restricted mode, you can set which country should view your content and the age of the authorized viewers. If posting adult content, you can select the preferred age, and anyone who doesn’t meet the restricted age won’t access the content.

Furthermore, the restricted mode can work on your Facebook friends. You can add someone to your restricted list, meaning they won’t view anything you post unless you turn off the feature or set your post to public viewing. While on restricted mode, you will still see what your friends post even if you’ve restricted them.

The bottom line is that you can restrict someone based on age, country, or add someone to your restricted list.

How To Turn Off Restricted Mode on Facebook

If you turn on the Facebook restricted mode based on age or country, you can easily turn it off on your page. We will also see how to add and remove your friend from your restricted list.

Method #1: Turning Off Restricted Mode for Age and Country

Age-based restrictions prevent people from viewing your posts on your Facebook page if their age doesn’t match the one specified. For country restriction, you are restricting your content only to get viewed by people in a given country.

You can turn off country restrictions using the steps below:

  1. Open your Facebook account from a browser.
  2. Once logged in, click the “Pages” on the left of the “News Feed” page.
  3. Choose a page and click the settings option.
  4. Once on the settings page, navigate to “General”, locate and click the “edit” button on the right of the “country restrictions” option.
  5. Under the “country restrictions”, click the “Hide this page…” and ensure you mention no country.
  6. Once you’ve removed any mentioned country, click the “Save Changes” button.

With the country restrictions removed, anyone in any region can access your posts.

To remove the age restrictions, proceed with the steps below:

  1. Open your Facebook account from a browser.
  2. Once logged in, click the “Pages” on the left of the “News Feed” page.
  3. Choose a page and click the settings option.
  4. Once on the settings page, navigate to “General”, locate and click the “edit” button on the right of the “age restrictions”.
    Note: Age restriction is below the country restriction.
  5. To remove the age restriction and allow everyone to view your post irrespective of their age, select “public” and click the “Save Changes” button.

With age restriction set to public, you’ve turned off the age restriction and allowed every person to view anything you post.

Method #2: Turning Off Restricted Mode for Friends

With the restricted mode, you can specify who should access your content. If you’ve turned on who should view your content, use the steps below to turn it off:

  1. Open your Facebook account.
  2. Click on your profile image at the top right corner.
  3. Click the “Settings and Privacy” option from the menu.
  4. Click “Settings” on the next screen.
  5. On the left side, locate and click the “Privacy” option.
  6. Locate “Your Activity” and click the “Edit” button under the “Who can see your future posts?” option.
  7. A drop-down list will appear.
  8. To remove all restrictions, select “Public”.

With that, all your friends can now view posts on your Facebook page.

How To Add Someone to Your Restricted List

If you don’t want someone to view your posts, you can add them to your restricted list on Facebook.

Follow the steps below:

  1. Open your Facebook app on Android or iOS and access your account.
  2. Open the Facebook profile of the person you wish to restrict.
  3. Below their profile picture, click the Friends icon.
  4. A drop-down menu will appear. Click on “Friends”.
  5. On the next screen, click the “Edit Friend Lists” option.
  6. Next, click the “restricted” button.

Once you click the button, the target person will get added to your restricted list and only view your public posts.

Conclusion

Facebook restricted mode is a great way of enhancing your privacy, giving you control over who should view your Facebook posts.

This guide covered the Facebook restricted mode, how to turn it off, and how to restrict someone by adding them to your restricted list.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top