SnapchatSocial Media

How To Delete All Saved Messages on Snapchat?

How to delete all saved messages on Snapchat

Gone are the days when Snapchat messages disappeared immediately after they were viewed.

These days there are tons of options to choose from. You can decide to delete the messages immediately after they are viewed, after 24 hours, or keep them indefinitely.

To keep messages indefinitely, you need to save them, which can take up a significant portion of your phone storage. To prevent that, you might want to delete your saved messages when they are not needed anymore.

So, how can you delete all saved messages on Snapchat?

Quick Answer

Unfortunately, Snapchat does not offer a feature to delete all messages in one click. You have to delete the saved messages one-by-one.

To delete saved messages, navigate to the chat where the saved messages are and tap on each saved message.

The method above discusses how to delete saved messages sent by you. Therefore, without further ado, let’s delve right into that. 

How Delete All Saved Snapchat Messages?

Snapchat messages are automatically deleted 24 hours after the receiver has viewed them. Meanwhile, you can change the setting such that the message is deleted immediately after being viewed by the receiver.

Nonetheless, saved messages cannot be deleted automatically.

Therefore, here is how to delete Snapchat messages:

  1. Open the Snapchat app on your mobile device.
  2. Click on the chat icon at the bottom or swipe right on the screen.
  3. Tap on the friend’s username whose message you want to delete.
  4. Tap on each of the messages that you want to delete.
  5. Repeat the process for each where you have saved messages.

The background of the message now turns from grey to chat color, indicating that the message has been unsaved. Also, Snapchat will show an “Unsaved” label in front of the message for a couple of seconds.

How To Save Messages on Snapchat?

You might want to save Snapchat messages for several reasons. You should note that you can only save each message in a conversation one at a time. Therefore, we will show you how to do that.

Here is how to save your Snapchat messages:

  1. Open the Snapchat app on your smartphone.
  2. Click on the chat icon at the bottom or swipe right on the screen.
  3. Tap on the friend’s chat whose message you want to save
  4. Tap the message you wish to save.
  5. Repeat the process for every message you wish to save.

The saved message will now have a grey background rather than the chat color. The grey background implies that the message has been saved indefinitely. Also, a “Saved” label appears before the message for a couple of seconds.

Good To Know

When you save a message, the second party in the conversation will be aware of this. However, only you can unsave the message.

Conclusion

Snapchat is quite famous not only for its filters and lenses but also for its privacy features, such as disappearing messages and notifying users when some actions are taken.

However, we might want to keep some messages that are important to you. Thankfully, we have discussed how to do that in this article. 

As beneficial as it is to save, we sometimes need to free up some storage spaces on our phones. Therefore, deleting some saved Snapchat messages can be the way to go.

In this article, we have discussed how to delete saved Snapchat messages. As a perk, we also showed you how to save important messages in the first place.

FAQs

Can you delete Snapchat messages saved by someone else?

Yes, it is possible to delete Snapchat messages saved by another person in the conversation. However, you can only delete saved messages sent by you, not the other person. You should also remember that the person will be notified about the deleted message.

Does removing a friend delete saved messages on Snapchat?

When you remove a friend on Snapchat, you will no longer be able to see your saved conversations. However, they can still view the saved messages.

Does blocking a friend delete saved messages on Snapchat?

When you block a friend on Snapchat, you can no longer see your saved conversations. However, they can still view the saved messages. 

How long do saved Snapchat messages last?

Saved Snapchats messages are kept for as long as you delete them. 

Can you delete saved messages on Snapchat without them knowing?

There are two methods of deleting saved messages on Snapchat. One is deleting the messages automatically immediately or 24 hours after viewing them. The other party will not be notified when messages are deleted using this method.

Secondly, the sender can manually delete saved messages; when this happens, the other party will be notified.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top