TikTokSocial Media

How To Remove Contacts from TikTok?

How to remove contacts from TikTok

While TikTok is a wonderful platform to connect with your friends and family, there may be a few you wouldn’t want on that list. These people from your contact list get an automatic invitation and permission to peep into what you do.

However, you can make them move out of your personal space you want to keep exclusive to yourself and a selected few.

Quick Answer

To remove contacts from TikTok, open your profile and tab on the menu icon. Select ‘Settings and privacy,’ then move to ‘Privacy.’ Tap the “Sync contacts and Facebook Friends’ option. Find the option ‘Remove previously synced contacts.’ Once you click on it, you have successfully removed your contacts. 

This detailed article will tell you how to get rid of all the people (aka contacts on TikTok) without a fuss. We will also let you know how to disable contact syncing and stop suggesting your profile to others on TikTok.

How Does TikTok Connect to Your Contacts?

TikTok is a social media app where you can find people from your phone book or Facebook friends list.

Suppose you provide enough information about yourself when signing up, such as that you’re over 16 and have a Facebook account compatible for use on TikTok.

In that case, the app will suggest inviting these contacts into the application according to their privacy settings. 

Good to Know

Also, if you have enabled contact syncing in TikTok’s settings, they will get an automatic invitation. The application will find out all the contacts who are on TikTok and suggest your account to these bunch of people. The awkward function leaves you with no option but to remove them. 

What Happens When You Sync Contacts on TikTok?

TikTok makes it easier for users to create a community within their platform by connecting them with others with similar interests or hobbies.

They use data such as your phone number and Facebook’s friend list to make achieving this goal easier.

How to Remove Synced Contacts on TikTok

To remove synced contacts on TikTok, follow the steps below:

  1. Open the TikTok app and sign in.
  2. Tap on the “Profile” tab in the bottom right corner.
  3. Tap the hamburger menu icon in the top right corner.
  4. Select “Settings and privacy.”
  5. Select “Privacy.”
  6. Tap on “Sync contacts and Facebook friends.”
  7. Tap “Remove previously synced contacts.”
  8. Confirm by tapping “Remove.”

How To Disable Contact Syncing on TikTok?

Follow these steps to disable contact syncing on TikTok:

  1. Open TikTok on your mobile device.
  2. Tap the “Profile” tab in the bottom right corner.
  3. Tap the hamburger menu icon in the top right corner.
  4. Select “Settings and privacy.”
  5. Select “Privacy.”
  6. Select “Sync contacts and Facebook friends.”
  7. Switch off the “Sync contacts” toggle.

How to turn off the ‘Suggest Your Account to Others’ setting on TikTok?

How To Stop TikTok From Suggesting Your Profile to Others?

You can control who TikTok suggests your account to. The options include your contacts, Facebook friends, people with mutual connections, and people who open or send links to you.

To stop TikTok from suggesting your profile to others, follow the steps below:

  1. Open TikTok on your mobile device.
  2. Tap the “Profile” tab in the bottom right corner.
  3. Tap the hamburger menu icon in the top right corner.
  4. Select “Settings and privacy.”
  5. Select “Privacy.”
  6. Select “Suggest your account to others.”
  7. Toggle off the switches you want.

Conclusion

We hope that this post assisted you in removing contacts from TikTok. We have also shared step-by-step instructions to stop the social media app from syncing your contacts.

Follow the procedure, and you will enjoy TikTok without interruption. Have fun!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top