FacebookSocial Media

How To Unpublish a Facebook Page?

How to unpublish a Facebook page

Are you planning to rebrand yourself on Facebook? Perhaps you want to make massive changes that may rebrand the whole Facebook page without confusing your fans.

Unpublishing the Facebook page makes rebranding seamless. You don’t have to delete the Facebook page. So, how do you unpublish the Facebook page?

Quick Answer

For the most part, you can unpublish a Facebook page if you’re the admin or the creator of the Facebook page. It’s possible to unpublish the Facebook page right from the Facebook page screen.

Go to the Facebook page’s profile and hit the settings button. The Settings button will give you access to the “Unpublish” or “Publish” button. Press the “Unpublish” button to get started.

Too shallow? Don’t worry. I will get into the details on how to unpublish your Facebook page. Let’s get started. 

Difference Between Unpublishing and Deleting a Facebook Page

Most users assume that deleting is the same as unpublishing a page. Although you must be an admin to delete or unpublish a Facebook page, deleting the Facebook page is very different from unpublishing it. 

Unpublishing a Facebook Page 

Facebook pages are public by default. Anybody can view it as long as it’s published. However, the moment you unpublish a Facebook page, it becomes private.

Other users will not see the Facebook page until you reactivate it. That gives you the freedom to rebrand or re-customize the Facebook page.

Unpublishing the Facebook page will not delete it. You’ll retain the post history, comments, and all the likes. Also, you will not lose any followers or fans. Here is how you can unpublish your Facebook page.

Unpublish a Facebook Page in a Mobile App

  1. Open the Facebook app on your mobile device.
  2. Tap the “Menu” tab in the bottom right corner.
  3. Select “Pages” (flag symbol).
  4. Select the Facebook page you’d wish to unpublish. 
  5. Tap the settings icon in the top right corner. 
  6. Select “General.”
  7. Click “Unpublished” under “Page visibility,” and you are done.

Unpublish a Facebook Page on a PC

  1. Go to facebook.com and log in to your account. 
  2. Select “Pages” from the left navigation.
  3. Select the page you want to unpublish.
  4. Select “Settings” from the left navigation.
  5. Click “Edit” in the “Page Visibility” section.”
  6. Select “Page unpublished.”
  7. Click “Save changes,” and you are done.
How To Republish a Facebook Page?

Go back to the page settings and toggle on “Page published.” Once published, all Facebook users will see it. 

Deleting a Facebook Page

When you decide to delete a Facebook page, you permanently unlink it from your Facebook and remove it from Facebook’s servers. It’s a permanent process. However, it doesn’t disappear. After fourteen days have passed, it will disappear.

You’ll also lose all the followers, fans, and post history. So, ensure you want to part with the Facebook page before hitting the delete page button.

Once you’re sure about deleting the Facebook page, follow these steps:

  1. Open Facebook on your mobile device.
  2. Tap the “Menu” tab in the bottom right corner.
  3. Select “Pages.”
  4. Tap on the page you wish to delete.
  5. Tap the settings icon in the top right corner.
  6. Select “General.”
  7. Scroll to the “Remove Page” option and tap the “Delete” button at the bottom.
  8. A dialogue box confirming the deletion will appear. Tap the “Delete Page?” button to delete the page.

After fourteen days, it will disappear forever.

Final Thoughts 

The Page unpublished button allows you to hide and repair your Facebook page. It lets you rebrand without confusing your followers with all the massive changes.

It’s an ideal option when you desire to retain your fans and your post history if planning on changing or relaunching your Facebook page. Once unpublished, only the admins can see the Facebook page and all the shenanigans that will take place as you do the overhaul.

Once done, republish it and continue running the page. Don’t toggle on the “Page published” button if you wish to unpublish it permanently. 

FAQs

Can I undo a deletion once I delete my Facebook page?

Yes, you can undo the deletion within fourteen days once the Facebook page has gone into the deletion phase. To cancel the deletion, go to the particular Facebook page and click the Facebook page settings. Tap on the “Cancel deletion” banner and press “Ok” to confirm the cancellation. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top