TikTok enables users to create trending videos, and its algorithm effectively ensures your videos reach as many people as possible.
If you posted a video on TikTok for some reason and feel you should unpost it, you are in the right place!
TikTok users can unpost their TikTok videos when they no longer want them to get viewed by other TikTok users. To unpost a TikTok post, you can delete it or make it private. Once you delete a video, you will not be able to reaccess it, but making them private enables you to access them in the future. Read this guide if you don’t know how to perform the mentioned ways of unposting your TikTok video!
It is frustrating when you wish to do something only to realize you don’t know how to do it. This guide has presented two ways you can use to unpost a TikTok video. Moreover, it has explained frequent questions that users have regarding TikTok videos. Let’s begin!
2 Ways to Unpost a TikTok
Method #1: Unpost a TikTok by Deleting
One way to unpost a TikTok is to delete it.
This means the video will get wholly erased, and if you may want to access it later, there is no way of accessing it.
Therefore, before you undertake the following steps, ensure you won’t need to use the video in the future.
- Open the TikTok app.
- Tap your profile icon to navigate to your videos.
- Scroll through the videos and choose the video you wish to unpost.
- The video will start playing once you tap on it. Find three dots at the bottom of the right corner.
- Tap the three dots, and a menu will open with several options. Select the “Delete” option from the listed options.
- Confirm by selecting the “Delete” option when asked if you are sure to delete.
Once the above steps get completed, the TikTok video will be unposted. But if someone had downloaded your video, you may still find it posted on TikTok unless you have restricted it in your settings.
Method #2: Unpost a TikTok by Making it Private
Another way of unposting a TikTok post is by making it private.
When you make it private, it can be accessed by you alone. This is a better option when you may need to access your video in the future.
To make your TikTok posts private and prevent anyone from viewing them, follow the steps below:
- Navigate to the video you want to unpost, as explained in the previous method.
- Find the three dots and select them.
- Go to the “Privacy settings” option, and tap on it.
- You will see an option asking who can watch the video.
- It is set to “Everyone”. Now change it to the “Only me” option.
The above steps will transfer the video to a private folder, and you are the only one who can access it. If you no longer use it, you can delete it from the private folder.
TikTok is an excellent application, and it has enabled many people to be creative in making videos.
If you wish to eliminate some of the posts you have made on the platform, you can delete them or make them private.
We recommend you make the video private if you may have to use it in the future.
If you don’t know how to unpost a TikTok post, this guide has explained easy methods!
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. If you find out you have posted the wrong story on TikTok, you can unpost it by deleting it. Deleting a TikTok video is easy because you can do it from the TikTok application. You must open the TikTok application, find the video you wish to unpost, select the three dots icon and click the “Delete” option. Moreover, you can unpost a TikTok by making it private. When you make it private, you will be the only one who can see it.
No. Unfortunately, TikTok does not offer a way of retrieving some posts you deleted on the platform. Once you delete it, it will get lost unless you have a backup. That is why it is advisable to make videos private instead of deleting them, to make it easy to retrieve them in the future.
TikTok has an option of setting how your stories can get viewed. Only your followers can view your stories if your account gets set to private. Moreover, TikTok developers are working on ensuring the Stories can also get featured in the For You section to reach a large audience when you have a public profile.