TikTokSocial Media

How To See Who Blocked You on TikTok

How To See Who Blocked You on TikTok

TikTok allows you to block any user from accessing your account and videos. In the same manner, anyone on TikTok can block you. Sadly, TikTok will not send an alert when someone bars you. Is there a particular way to know who blocked you from interacting with them on TikTok?

Quick Answer

It’s hard to tell if a TikTok friend blocked you. Fortunately, there are tricks to see whether a friend barred you on TikTok. You can use the search bar, the following button, or head to the comment section. They probably blocked you if you can’t see their name on the Following section of your profile. They barred you if their name didn’t appear on the search bar. Lastly, check the comments you left on their video. If you can’t access the video, the user blocked you.

Let’s go over all these tricks in a step-by-step manner. The article will comprehensively cover how to view users who blocked your account on TikTok.

How To Tell if You Got Blocked on TikTok

The moment your TikTok friend blocks your TikTok account, you’ll no longer view any content they posted on TikTok. Also, you won’t send them a text, comment on their video, or see the previous comments you made on their videos or mentions. 

When you block another user, TikTok will send an alert informing you that the account will no longer interact with you. However, TikTok doesn’t send a notification notifying you of the block.

You can’t know if a friend blocked your TikTok account unless you’re curious. Therefore you’ll remain oblivious since no button shows you all the users who have blocked you. Thankfully, you can know if a particular friend barred you on TikTok.

Method #1: The Search Bar

The Search Bar can tell you whether a person blocked you or not. But you must know their full username to use the Search Bar. Use these steps to see if they blocked you.

  1. Open TikTok.
  2. Head to the Search Bar.
  3. Type their full username on the Search Bar.
  4. Check whether the user name appears on the results lists. You got blocked if you couldn’t see their username on the Search results.

Since you cannot interact with someone after they block you, you’ll not see their username. You can use the home or the Friends tab Search Bar.

Method #2: Go to Your Followers/Following List

The Followers and the Following list can also tell whether a user blocked you. So head there and check whether they barred you.

  1. Open your TikTok app.
  2. Click the Profile icon at the bottom corner (right) of the For You page.
  3. If you follow them, click the Following button.
  4. Tap the Search bar on the following page.
  5. Type their username into their Search Bar. 
  6. Hit enter.

Once you press enter, their account should appear on the Search results. They either blocked or unfriended you if your name did not appear among the results. Go to the main Search bar to confirm whether they hit the block or unfollow button. If the username doesn’t appear on the search results,

If they appear on the search list, try to follow them. It’s a red flag if you can’t follow the user. It means the user blocked you.

Method #3: Check the Previous Comments 

The comment section can also tell you whether a friend blocked you. Once another user bars you on TikTok, you can’t view or interact with anything they post or their account. So go back and check the comments.

TikTok doesn’t have an activity log. Therefore, it is hard to find the specific comment you might have left on your friend’s video. However, if your comment received likes, you will find the likes on the All Activity tab. Go to the All Activity sections using these steps.

  1. Open TikTok.
  2. Tap the Inbox icon.
  3. Click the Activity Tab. It will lead you to an All Activity page.
  4. Filter the All Activity sections by likes and comments.
  5. Locate the comment you left on their videos.
  6. Tap the video.

The friend barred your account if you see the “You cannot view this user’s videos due to their privacy settings” message.

Method #4: Check Mentions 

You can also check the Mentions you previously made on your friend’s video.

  1. Open TikTok.
  2. Click the Inbox icon.
  3. Tap the Activity tab.
  4. Select Mentions.
  5. All the videos with your Mentions will appear. Locate that user’s video.
  6. Tap the video.

If you cannot access the video, they barred you from accessing their TikTok. You can also try to Mention them in a video.  

Final Thoughts

TikTok will not notify you once a friend blocks you. But you can know if a friend barred you from viewing their content or interacting with them on TikTok. As exhibited in the article, check the following list, comments, mentions, and the Search button to see if someone blocked your TikTok account. They may have barred you if you can’t see their username after searching for it or interacting with their videos.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top