TikTok has millions of daily users globally, and you may be amassing many followers over time. Nobody loves getting stalked, and when you start feeling like someone is stalking you on TikTok, you may decide to hide your followers count.
Luckily, TikTok allows users to hide their list of followers, and we will see how to go about it in a few.
The quickest way to hide your followers on TikTok is by changing your “Settings and Privacy” and setting it to “hide”. That way, anyone trying to see your followers will get an error message saying the list of followers is hidden or is set to private. Besides, the steps are straightforward, and you don’t need help or a third-party app.
Want to learn how to hide your TikTok followers? This guide covers all you need to know, from why you may need to hide your TikTok followers to the steps to achieve that. So, let’s dive in!
Why Should You Hide Your TikTok Followers?
By default, people you follow on TikTok can view your profile provided it’s set to public, and when they view it, they can see a list of your followers.
For privacy matters and to avoid the feeling of being stalked, you may opt to make the list of people you follow only visible to you. That way, even if your profile is public, someone can’t see your followers.
How To Hide Followers on TikTok
If you’ve decided to hide your list of followers, the steps below will guide you through. But first, note that there are two ways to go about it.
Method #1: Select Who Can View Your Followers
With this method, you use the TikTok feature to make your list of followers visible to everyone or you alone.
- Open your TikTok app and log into your account.
- Once logged in, click the “Me” icon on the right at the bottom of your screen. This will open your profile page.
- On the profile page, click the three dots at the top right corner to open your menu.
- Next, click the “Settings and privacy” option.
- Click on the “Privacy” icon.
- Scroll down to the “Safety” section and click on “Following List”.
- Here, you need to select who can access your list of followers. Go with the “Only Me” option. The changes will get applied automatically.
Bingo! Your list of followers is now hidden from everyone, and only you can view it. If you get a change of mind in the future, use the same steps and select “Everyone” to make a list visible to every person you follow on TikTok.
Method #2: Switch Your Account to Private
TikTok has a feature that allows users to set their account to private such that anyone who doesn’t follow you on TikTok can’t view your details and profile, including your list of followers.
- Open TikTok and log into your account.
- Locate the “Me/Account” icon at the bottom of your screen.
- Next, click the three vertical dots at the top.
- Choose the “Privacy and Safety” option on the next screen.
- On the next screen, click the “Private Account” button on the right to enable it.
Once you’ve turned on the private account feature, your TikTok profile will only remain visible to the people who follow you. However, any time you accept someone’s friend request, it will be like permitting them to access your list of followers.
How To Verify That Your List of Followers is Hidden
The first step is limiting who can access your list of followers or setting your TikTok account to private. However, verifying that your followers are hidden as you want them to be is ideal. Luckily, the steps below help confirm that.
- Open your TikTok app and switch your account.
- Once you’ve switched the account, click the “Discover” button at the bottom.
- Enter your TikTok username on the search bar and search for it.
- Once it shows up, click on it to open your profile.
- Go through the profile and locate “Following”. Once found, click on it.
- If you managed to hide your list of followers, you should get an error message that the list is hidden for privacy concerns or the account is set to private.
That confirms that your followers’ list on TikTok is hidden. You did it!
TikTok is a fun platform for content creators and viewers. You can grow your account and use it to earn an income or use the application for fun.
Whatever the case, you may feel that you need to hide your list of followers from everyone or those who don’t follow you. In that case, the steps covered in this article will guide you through.