FacebookSocial Media

How To Delete Shared Photos in Facebook Messenger?

How to delete shared photos in Facebook Messenger

Facebook Messenger is a communication platform that allows users to chat with people on their friends’ lists. The app can synchronize shared photos to your device, and you can connect with people from anywhere.

But, some situations arise, and you might want to delete shared photos from the platform. So how would you approach the problem?

Quick Answer

To delete shared photos in Facebook messenger, open your messenger app and navigate to the specific conversation. Scroll to the image you want to delete and long press. Tap on ‘More…’ and then select ‘Unsend.’ Finally, choose ‘Unsend for Everyone’ or ‘Unsend for you,’ depending on what you are trying to achieve.

Unfortunately, deleted shared photos can’t be recovered in the conversation as before deletion. However, Facebook Messenger on a prompt will say that the images will be retained on their end in case they are reported.

But, both the sender and the recipient won’t see the photos again. This guide enlightens you on how to delete shared photos on Facebook messenger and other relevant topics that should be helpful when using this app.

How To Delete Shared Photos on Facebook Messenger for Everyone?

Most Facebook messenger users don’t know how to delete shared photos on the app for everyone. The process is simple but different from deleting photos in your gallery.

Follow the steps below keenly to delete shared photos on both sides:

  1. Open the Facebook Messenger app on your mobile device.
  2. Open the conversation from which you want to delete shared photos.
  3. Scroll to find the image you want to delete.
  4. Long-press on the image.
  5. Tap ‘More…‘ in the bottom right corner.
  6. Select ‘Unsend.’
  7. Select ‘Unsend for Everyone.’

Tapping on ‘Unsend for Everyone’ means that you have deleted the photo for both sides. Neither you nor the recipient can see it anymore.

Kind Reminder

You could have sent or received an important photo that you may need in the future but want to delete it for both sides from the Facebook conversation.

Long-press on the image, tap on ‘More…,’ and select ‘Save.” Doing this downloads the image and saves it in your phone’s camera roll instantly. You can proceed with the deletion process.

How To Delete Shared Photos on Facebook Messenger for You Only?

Facebook Messenger users have their reasons for deleting shared photos on their side alone. It could be because you want to share a part of the conversation with someone else, but you don’t want them to see the photo.

This is one of the primary reasons. Or sometimes, you want to delete photo evidence on your end in case someone snoops on your conversation.

The recipient will still have the photos on their Messenger until they decide to delete them on their end. Whichever the case, here are simple steps to help you remove these photos on your side:

  1. Open the Facebook Messenger app on your phone.
  2. Open the conversation that contains the images you wish to delete.
  3. Scroll to find a photo you want to delete on your side.
  4. Long-press on the picture.
  5. Tap on the ‘More…‘ at the bottom right corner of the screen.
  6. Select ‘Unsend.’
  7. Select ‘Unsend for you,’ and you are done.

If you have tried both steps, you have realized that Facebook Messenger gives two options on how you can delete shared photos on the app. The process is almost the same for the two.

For deleting shared photos on Messenger for both sides, you will tap on ‘Unsend for Everyone’ instead of ‘Unsend for you.’ This deletes the image for both parties.

Unless they scroll through the chat to spot a missing photo, they won’t tell any changes to the conversation. Also, they might see something like this ‘John Doe unsent a message.’

Conclusion

Deleting shared photos on Facebook Messenger is acceptable. But, an issue could arise if you delete a shared image on both sides, yet the recipient intended to use it. It will be best to handle this in the most courteous way possible.

If the photo could not lead you or them into trouble, you can resend it when they ask. But, it will depend if you have it in your gallery or can find it elsewhere.

Otherwise, there is no need to worry. Facebook Messenger allows you to delete unlimited photos shared through the platform.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top