Social media, including Snapchat, is excellent for connecting with friends and meeting new people. There is so much fun on Snapchat, from sharing snaps to viewing each other’s Snapchat Story.
Not everyone will bond with you, and when you want to cut off someone, your best option is to block them on Snapchat.
You can block someone by navigating their Snapchat profile and clicking the “block” button under the menu options. Once you’ve blocked a person on Snapchat, they won’t access your profile, and their snaps won’t reach you. Furthermore, they can’t access your public posts until you unblock them. Once you block someone on Snapchat, you deny them any means or chance of contacting you on the platform.
If you are looking to block someone and wondering what next after you block the person, this guide sheds light on every detail you should know. We will discuss what happens when you block someone, and once you are okay with the consequences, we will see the steps of blocking and unblocking someone on Snapchat.
What Happens Next After Blocking Someone on Snapchat?
Are you tired of someone texting you on Snapchat? Or maybe you want to block someone from viewing your Snapchat Story?
Whatever reason you want to block someone, we have your back. Besides, before you learn the steps of blocking someone, it makes sense to understand what happens after blocking someone on Snapchat.
Here’s the deal – once you’ve blocked someone, you can’t send or receive snaps from them. Even though the person you blocked can message you, their messages won’t reach you, and there is no notification that you will get.
Also, the snaps you shared with the person you blocked will remain visible to them for 24 hours before expiring. Furthermore, the person you blocked can’t view any Snapchat Stories that you create.
Once you block someone, their chats will get deleted from your chat section. If the person you blocked were your Snapchat best friend, the Snap streaks with them would come down to zero, and they will get removed from the list of Snapchat best friends.
Lastly, for someone you’ve blocked, you can’t add them as your friend. If you are on the friends list of the person you’ve blocked, that will remain so.
However, you can’t add them back as your friend unless you unblock them first and then send them a friend request.
How To Block Someone on Snapchat
Now that you understand what happens after you block someone, how about getting the steps to block someone on Snapchat?
To block someone on Snapchat, use the steps below:
- Open your Snapchat account.
- Tap the avatar/profile icon at the top.
- Click on “My Friends”.
- From the listed friends, locate the target person you want to block and tap on their profile.
- On the chat screen, click on the person’s profile icon.
- Click on the three dots on the right.
- Tap the option for “Manage Friendship”.
- Lastly, click the “Block” option.
The steps above help in blocking someone who is your Snapchat friend.
What if you want to block someone not on your friends list? In that case, use the steps below.
To block someone not on your friends list, you must first ensure anyone can contact you on your settings.
First, let’s change our settings to allow anyone to contact us:
- Open your Snapchat account and tap on your Bitmoji.
- Click the settings icon.
- On the settings page, click the “Who Can” and change it to “Everyone”.
- Now, go back to your home screen and tap on the search icon at the top.
- Enter the name of the target person.
- Click the three dots on their profile.
- Click the “Block” option.
With that, you’ve managed to block even someone who is not your Snapchat friend, such that they can’t view your Snapchat profile and stories.
How To Unblock Someone on Snapchat
If you later decide to get in touch with a person you blocked on Snapchat, you can still easily unblock them.
For that, proceed with the steps below:
- Open Snapchat and navigate to your Snapchat profile page.
- Click the settings icon and tap on “Blocked” at the bottom.
- All the people you’ve blocked will get displayed.
- Click on the “X” next to their name to unblock them.
- Confirm on the next prompt that you want to unblock them.
Blocking someone on Snapchat is a good move when you need to cut off someone and prevent them from contacting you and viewing your Snapchat profile and Story.
We’ve covered what happens when you block someone and the steps of blocking and unblocking someone.