You may have noticed tiny blue arrows or crossed arrows after sending a text to a friend on Snapchat.
Does it mean the friend received your text?
Have they read it yet?
Snapchat has different message icons that show the delivery status of messages. You may have seen blue arrows (filled or outlined blue arrow icons), square (filled or unfilled square icons), or crossed blue arrows. A blue arrow icon shows you’ve sent a chat to a friend. The delivery status rests on whether the shape is unfilled or filled. A square icon means a friend sent you a text. Again, the icon can be unfilled or filled. You may also see doubled blue crossed arrows.
Is it confusing? Do not worry. The guide will explore the delivery icons.
A Quick Delivery Icons Run Through
There is a way to tell whether a friend has received and opened the text you sent them. Check the chat screen icons underneath the recipient’s name.
You’ll notice different icons if you check through the Friends Screen. You will see red, purple, blue, or gray arrow or square arrow icons.
You may also see purple, blue, or red crossed arrow icons. You’ll see different shapes (arrow or square) depending on whether you’re the recipient or sender.
You may also see red or purple replay icons apart from the arrows and squares. Here is a quick overview.
Blue arrow icons show text has been sent and delivered to a friend, while the blue square icon applies if you’re the recipient:
- Sent icon – a filled arrow icon means your friend has received the chat.
- Opened icon – an unfilled arrow indicates that the friend opened the text.
- Received icon – a filled square icon means you’ve received a text from a friend.
- Viewed icon – an unfilled square icon means you’ve opened and viewed the message.
- Screenshot – crossed arrows show the chat recipient has screenshotted the chat.
You’ll see a red arrow icon after sending a snap or multiple snaps that do not contain audio. The icon can be filled or an unfilled red arrow:
- Sent icon – a filled red arrow icon indicates that you sent a snap to a user who has accepted your Friend Request. But the snap has no audio.
- Opened icon – an unfilled red arrow icon shows the recipient viewed the snap you sent.
You may also notice a red square icon:
- Received icon – a filled red square icon means you’ve received a snap from a friend. But it has no audio.
- Viewed icon – an unfilled red square icon shows you’ve viewed the snap.
- Screenshot – red crossed arrows indicate that friend took a screenshot.
- Red replay icon– have you seen a red replay icon next to your snap? If you’ve seen it, the recipient replayed the snap.
You may notice a full or unfilled purple arrow if you attached audio to a snap you sent to a friend on Snapchat:
- Sent icon – a filled purple arrow means the recipient has received the snap with audio.
- Opened icon – an unfilled purple arrow icon shows the recipient has opened the snap with audio.
You’ll see a full or unfilled square icon if you’re on the receiving end:
- Received icon – a filled square icon indicates you’ve received a snap with attached audio.
- View icon – an unfilled purple square icon means you’ve viewed the snap.
- Screenshot – crossed purple arrows mean the recipient screenshot the snap containing audio.
- Purple Replay icon – the icon shows that the friend replayed the snap.
Gray Arrow Icons
Gray delivery icons may appear depending on the recipient’s privacy settings:
- Sent icon – you’ll see a gray arrow icon if the chat or snap you sent is still pending. You’ll mostly see the gray arrow icon if the recipient blocked you or hasn’t accepted your friend request on Snapchat.
- Viewed icon – a partially filled gray square icon means the chat or snap has expired.
There is also a green delivery icon. You may see an unfilled green arrow if you’ve sent a cash gift to a friend through Snapchat. It means the recipient has received and opened the cash gift.
As shown above, there are different delivery icons on Snapchat, including blue arrows or squares.
These icons show different delivery statuses depending on what you’ve sent or received.
Therefore, it’s crucial to comprehend these icons because they give you a clue on whether someone ignored you, took a screenshot, or blocked you.
Yes, they do. But the expiration period depends on whether you’ve sent a one-on-one chat or snap or to a group. A one-on-one unread chat or snap will expire after 30 days. Snapchat will delete them after expiration.
If you’ve sent a chat or a snap to a group, it’ll expire after 24 hours. Snapchat will then delete the snaps or chats. However, if the groups open or view the messages, Snapchat can delete them within 24 hours.