Are you trying to avoid viewing someone’s Snapchat stories without removing them as your Snapchat friends?
The good news is Snapchat allows users to mute other people. When you mute someone, their stories won’t appear on the list of Snapchat stories. That way, you won’t accidentally view their story if you don’t want to keep viewing it.
To mute someone on Snapchat, you need to click on Bitmoji and click the “Mute Story” option under settings. Once done, you won’t see the Snapchat stories they share until you unmute them. Also, there is no limit to how long you mute someone. They will remain muted until you decide to unmute them manually.
This guide has your back if you want to understand what it means to mute someone and the steps of muting someone on Snapchat. We will see the differences between “Mute” and “Do Not Disturb” on Snapchat. Stay tuned!
What Does It Mean to Mute Someone on Snapchat?
You will see any new Snapchat story, and if you are trying to avoid someone by not seeing their story, your best option is to mute them.
By muting their story, even if they post, you will never see their story until you unmute them. The feature is handy for those who avoid viewing their friends or family’s stories and don’t want to remove them as their Snapchat friends.
Difference Between “Mute” and “Do Not Disturb” on Snapchat
“Do Not Disturb” is a feature on Snapchat that blocks notifications from a given person or group. With the “Do Not Disturb” feature, you are just silencing notifications from a specific Snapchat friend or group.
However, the “Mute” feature is silencing someone’s Snapchat stories.
If you “Mute” someone’s story, you will still get notifications from them, such as when they send a snap. Similarly, “Do Not Disturb” doesn’t prevent someone’s Snapchat story from appearing.
How To Mute Someone on Snapchat
We’ve discussed what “Mute” is on Snapchat. Now, let’s see how to mute someone’s Snapchat story.
Follow the steps below:
- Open your Snapchat app and access your account on Android or iOS.
- On the camera screen, click the message icon at the bottom of the screen.
- Your chats section will open.
- Locate the person you wish to mute and click on their avatar/profile icon.
- Once on their profile, click the three dots at the top right corner.
- Under the settings that appear, click “Story Settings” and then the “Mute Story” option at the bottom.
That’s how you mute someone on Snapchat. Their stories will never appear on your account, meaning you won’t find yourself accidentally opening their story.
How To Unmute Someone on Snapchat
If a time comes when you wish to unmute the person you muted, the process is simple.
Here, all you need is to repeat all the steps covered in the above section and turn off the “Mute Story” option that you turned off when muting them. Also, you can turn on the “Show Notifications” option if you want to get notifications about them.
Muting someone is helpful when you want to remain Snapchat friends with someone but don’t want to view their Snapchat story.
This guide has presented the steps of muting someone on Snapchat.
Further, it has discussed between “Mute” and “Do Not Disturb” on Snapchat.
Frequently Asked Questions
No, the two terms are different. “Mute” is when you want to hide someone’s Snapchat story when viewing other stories. That way, you will never see their stories. On the other hand, “Do Not Disturb” is a feature that blocks notifications of a given person or group. You won’t see the target person or group’s notifications for whatever activity when enabled.
Are you trying to avoid someone’s stories? Do you want to avoid accidentally viewing someone’s story, and you don’t want to remove them as your Snapchat friend? If you’ve answered yes to these questions, that’s when you should mute someone on Snapchat. Ideally, you should only mute someone if you no longer want to view their Snapchat story.
Snapchat doesn’t notify someone when you mute them. However, someone can get hints that you’ve muted them if they stop seeing your name on their viewers’ list. If you used to view their story often and suddenly no longer view it, they can suspect that you’ve muted their story.