WhatsApp is an excellent messaging platform with many users. When you are a WhatsApp user, you can interact with your friends by texting or calling them.
Like all things, you can get tired of using WhatsApp or reach a point where you want to remove your phone number from WhatsApp. When such a case happens, you can delete your WhatsApp account.
The main question is what happens when you delete the WhatsApp account.
When you delete WhatsApp, you will lose all your chats. All your account information, such as your profile picture, will be deleted. Still, your WhatsApp history saved on WhatsApp cloud storage will be deleted. If using WhatsApp business, your payment history will be deleted. Moreover, you will be removed from all WhatsApp groups you joined. When someone tries to message you, the messages won’t get delivered.
Why and how do you delete a WhatsApp account? We will begin by answering that question and then discuss in detail what happens when someone deletes WhatsApp, including tips on how to know if someone deleted their WhatsApp account.
How To Delete WhatsApp Account
There are multiple messaging applications, but WhatsApp has become the most commonly used one. When you want to be on WhatsApp, you must register on WhatsApp using a valid phone number.
Sometimes, you may feel you no longer need to have WhatsApp associated with your phone number. Everyone has their reasons for wanting to delete WhatsApp.
In most cases, people delete WhatsApp when they want to take a break from it or when they want to quit using WhatsApp to communicate with their friends entirely.
It’s understandable, and the process of deleting WhatsApp is fairly straightforward.
- Open your WhatsApp on your phone.
- Click the “More options” at the top.
- Select “Settings” from the listed options.
- Click the option for “Account”.
- Next, click on the “Delete my account” option.
- Enter your phone number in the correct format, including your country’s code.
- Lastly, click the “Delete My Account” option.
- Select your reason for wanting to delete the account.
- Confirm your action by clicking “Delete My Account” again.
WhatsApp will start processing the deletion process.
What Happens When Someone Deletes WhatsApp?
You can only communicate via WhatsApp if your account is active. However, when someone deletes their WhatsApp account, there are different ways to know if that person is active or if they delete their WhatsApp account.
Check the following tips to know if someone deleted their WhatsApp account:
- If the messages are not delivered for a long time, it signals that the person might have deleted their WhatsApp account.
- If you suddenly stop seeing someone’s profile picture and it remains so for a long time, they have deleted their WhatsApp.
- Suppose you open your WhatsApp contacts and don’t see the target person from the contact list. It means their account was deleted.
So, what happens when someone deletes WhatsApp?
First, your WhatsApp account will completely get deleted, and people won’t find you on WhatsApp. Also, all your message history will get deleted from WhatsApp. Also, your phone number will be removed from all the WhatsApp groups you’ve joined.
Note that you can’t regain your WhatsApp once it’s deleted. However, WhatsApp takes around 90 days for the account to be deleted entirely from its servers. All your data will remain with WhatsApp for 90 days, after which they will get removed completely. Moreover, all the information that WhatsApp shares with Meta will also be deleted.
When your WhatsApp friends try to contact you, the messages won’t get delivered as you are no longer available.
However, the WhatsApp chats will remain on their end unless they decide to delete them. Also, deleting a WhatsApp account doesn’t delete the application from your phone. It will remain until you decide to uninstall it.
Also, when someone tries to WhatsApp call you, they can’t reach you. Once you’ve deleted your WhatsApp account, you can use the phone number to register for another WhatsApp account.
Someone can delete their WhatsApp account from the settings window.
This post has covered why people decide to delete their WhatsApp accounts and the steps you can use to delete the WhatsApp account.
Moreover, we’ve seen what happens when someone deletes their WhatsApp account.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes, you can. Open your settings page on your WhatsApp and access the “Account” section. Click on the option to “Delete the account” and confirm the action after adding your WhatsApp number. WhatsApp will start processing the account deletion.
WhatsApp will process the deletion within 90 days. Your account will get deleted, and all your chats and backup will be deleted. Moreover, people can’t contact you on WhatsApp.