TikTok‚ÄčSocial Media

How To Make Your Following Private on TikTok

How To Make Your Following Private On Tiktok

TikTok is one of the most popular social media platforms today due to its variety of content, including how-to videos, funny clips, fitness videos, and much more.

Like other social media platforms, TikTok users still face privacy concerns when cybercriminals use their personal data to impersonate them or scam people. One of the ways you can protect your TikTok data is to make your TikTok following private. This will prevent anyone else on the platform from viewing your following list.

Quick Answer

To make your following list private on TikTok, go to your TikTok profile and click on the menu icon in the top right corner. Select “Settings and privacy,” then tap on the “Privacy” tab. On the privacy window, scroll down to “Following list” and click on it. Next, select “Only me.” Now your TikTok following list will only be visible to you.

To learn more about making your following private on TikTok, read this article to the end.

Overview of Making Your Following Private on TikTok

If your TikTok profile is public, your videos, followers, and the following list are visible to any platform user. Anyone curious about who you follow can see your following when they open your TikTok profile.

If you’re worried about the safety of your TikTok data based on your following, it’s best to make your following private. Even so, changing the following list privacy setting doesn’t have to be a data privacy precaution; it can also be a preference. Adjusting your following list privacy settings is advisable if you want to keep the information to yourself.

In addition to making your following list private, you can also make your account private. When you have a private TikTok account, only approved users can view your live streams, videos, and the people you follow.

Next, we cover the exact steps to make your following private on TikTok.

A Step-by-Step Guide on Making Your Following Private on TikTok

Follow the steps below to make your following list private on TikTok:

  1. Launch TikTok on your smart device and log in.
  2. Tap on the “Profile” tab in the bottom right corner.
  3. Tap on the menu icon (three stacked lines) at the top-right corner of the screen.
  4. Select “Settings and privacy.”
  5. Tap on “Privacy.”
  6. Under Privacy, scroll down to “Following list” and click on it.
  7. Tap on “Only me” to make your TikTok following private.
  8. Now, only you can see your TikTok followers.

Viewing TikTok Followers on a Private Account

In addition to making your TikTok following private, you can also make your account private. When your account is private, only users you approve can view your live streams, videos, bio, and the people you follow.

You’ll receive a notification when someone wishes to follow your account. A private account also prevents other TikTok users from stitching or downloading your videos.

To set your TikTok account as private:

  1. Launch TikTok on your smartphone and log in.
  2. Tap on “Profile” in the bottom right corner.
  3. Tap on the menu icon in the top right corner of the screen.
  4. Tap on “Settings and privacy.”
  5. Select “Privacy” from the menu.
  6. Tap on the grey toggle icon next to “Private account,” and it’ll change to green.
Note

You can make both your TikTok account and the following list private.

To make your following private on a TikTok account, scroll down the privacy options and select “Following list.” Under “Who can see your following list?” click on “Only me,” as mentioned earlier in this article.

When you make your following private on a private account, other users can view your videos, profile, and live streams but can’t view the people you follow.

Summary

As you’ve learned from this article, making your following private on TikTok only takes a few simple steps. Remember that users can still view your profile and download your videos even if your following list is private. If you wish to restrict content viewership, you can change your account from public to private.

With private accounts, users have to send requests to follow your account. In addition to making your account private, you can also make your following private so that even approved followers can’t view your following.

FAQs

Can I view a private account’s following on TikTok?

To view a private user account’s following on TikTok, the account user must first approve you as a follower. Viewing a private account’s following also depends on whether they have changed their privacy settings to only them. If they have, you cannot view their following even after they approve your following request.

How many TikTok accounts can I follow per day or hour?

TikTok doesn’t have an exact limit for the number of accounts you can follow in a day or an hour. The limit is estimated to be around 200 accounts per day and between 25 to 30 accounts per hour. Please note that these rules don’t apply to every TikTok account. Some may receive a blocking notification before reaching the limit. Other accounts may sometimes exceed the following limit without being blocked.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top