The question of what happens if I delete the TikTok app is quite common only among those who have had a fun run on the app, have a significant amount of data on it already, but would like time off the app; either permanently or temporarily.
They may feel the need to reduce social media content consumption or have another engagement that will occupy their time and mind. There is no need to hide the fact that TikTok is an addictive app – once you’re on, you just keep scrolling and scrolling.
For whatever reason you’re leaving the TikTok app, whether it is temporary or permanent, both the TikTok app and your account can be deleted.
So, What Happens When You Delete the TikTok App?
What happens if you delete TikTok app and what happens if you delete TikTok account are two different things that people often use interchangeably, albeit incorrectly.
If you delete TikTok app, the application is simply uninstalled and thus, disappears from your device. This means that you will not be able to access TikTok on that particular device unless you install the app or log in via web browser. In simple terms, your user data still exists, but you have chosen not to reaccess it via the app.
Other TikTok users will still be able to view your content, videos, comments and profile if you only deleted the TikTok app. This is entirely different from deleting TikTok account.
If you delete the TikTok account, this means you have chosen to remove your user data from the server entirely. In this case, the app may even still be present on your phone, but you are just not a user of the app anymore; you cannot access it—the videos, the profile, and the data are all gone.
Anyone who searches for your account will not find it or be shown an empty page. Your comments may still be visible in other people’s videos. Still, if your account is clicked via the comment, it will show an empty page.
However, There Is a Catch
The developers of the TikTok app know that sometimes after deleting your account, you may want to come back and restore your account. For this reason, there is a 30-day deactivation period.
When you delete your TikTok account, it is merely deactivated for 30 days, which means it is no longer viewable to the general public. If you do not reactivate your accont in 30 days, your account and associated data will be permanently wiped.
Another interesting fact is that, before you delete your TikTok account, the app will prompt you to download all of the account’s data in the form of a
json file. Interesting right?
How To Delete Your TikTok App
If you only want to delete the TikTok app, you just have to uninstall it from your device.
On an Android Device:
- Locate the TikTok app in your app drawer.
- Press and hold the app icon for a few seconds until a new menu opens.
- Tap “Uninstall” from the menu.
- A new box will appear, confirming your decision to delete the program. Click “OK” to proceed.
- Locate the TikTok app on your iPhone.
- Long-press the app until it jiggles and a cross icon appears in the upper-left corner.
- When a new window appears asking for confirmation, touch the “Delete App” option in the window.
- The app will now be removed from your device.
How To Delete TikTok Account
If you want to delete the TikTok account, you can do this from the TikTok mobile app or web browser.
On the Mobile Device:
- Open the TikTok app.
- Select the Profile icon located at the right end of the screen at the bottom of the app.
- Tap the three-bar horizontal menu symbol on the top-right portion of the screen on your profile page.
- Tap “Settings and privacy“.
- Tap “Manage account”.
- Tap “Delete account“.
- Follow all the confirmation steps and your accound will be deleted.
In a Web Browser:
- Go to TikTok and log in.
- Hover your user symbol in the top right corner of the screen and click “Settings“.
- There’s a “Delete account” option from where you should click “Delete“.
- Follow all the confirmation and verification steps after this to delete your TikTok account.
Note that after this deletion, whether from the phone app or web browser, the 30 days during which you can change your mind will start.
How To Reactivate Your Account After You Delete It.
Once your account is deleted, TikTok gives you a 30-days period in which you can reconsider the deletion. The 30 days cannot be shortened, and you cannot override it. After the 30 days wait, your account will be permanently deleted.
However, if you have a rethink and you want to have your account back, you can retrieve it all by following these simple steps:
- Open TikTok on your PC or mobile device.
- Tap “login“.
- Sign in to your account.
- Once you input those, you will be taken to a page that tells you your account is deactivated.
- Tap “Reactivate” to confirm that you want to reinstate your account to full function.
In summary, deleting your account is technically different from deleting the app from your phone. If you delete TikTok app, you can still access your account via a web browser. In contrast, if you delete TikTok account, your profile, videos, and information will be deactivated for 30 days, during which you can reactivate it. After 30 days, your account will be permanently removed.