Messenger is an internet-based messaging platform that brings people closer. The platform lets users send different kinds of messages, and make audio and video calls.
Despite all these features, the platform can be disruptive. It may prevent you from paying attention to important tasks. Thankfully, you can deactivate it.
So, what does a deactivated Messenger account look like?
A deactivated Messenger is not visible to others. It will not appear on Messenger searches. You can’t call, send or receive messages to a deactivated Messenger account. Messenger will tell you the user isn’t available if you attempt to call or send a message. It is also impossible to view the account’s information. However, it’s possible to see the account’s previous texts.
Here is a detailed guide on deactivated Messenger accounts.
- What Happens When You Deactivated a Messenger Account?
- What Does a Deactivated Messenger Profile Look Like?
- What Happens to a Deactivated Messenger Account’s Data?
- How To Deactivate a Messenger Account?
- How To Pinpoint a Deactivated Messenger Account?
- Last Thoughts
What Happens When You Deactivated a Messenger Account?
Once you tap the “Continue to Account Deactivation” button, your Messenger account will no longer be visible to other Messenger users.
Other people will not see your Messenger profile or discover you through the Messenger search button. Other users can’t also send you messages or call you. However, Messenger will not delete your past conversations.
Messenger will not update any reaction to your past conversation. You can’t access or modify these conversations because they’ll be in view mode only.
You won’t also receive any Messenger notifications.
What Does a Deactivated Messenger Profile Look Like?
When someone deactivates their Messenger account, their profile will disappear. Therefore, you won’t see their profile picture or information when you tap the deactivated account’s conversations.
Instead, you’ll see “Facebook User” or “Facebook Friend.” You’ll notice that you can’t see an option to send messages when you open your conversations with them.
If the deactivated account was part of a group conversation, “Facebook User” or “Facebook Friend” will replace their Messenger username.
Other group members will still see the old chats. But they’ll see a “This person is unavailable on Messenger” alert underneath their messages.
An attempt to search the deactivated profile will be futile. It will not appear in your searches. You may see their username on the search results. However, you’ll see a “This page isn’t available” when you click their username.
What Happens to a Deactivated Messenger Account’s Data?
Meta will not delete your data when you deactivate Messenger. Meta will store all your Messenger data on their servers.
So, it’s possible to reactivate a deactivated Messenger account. You do it by re-logging into your Messenger account.
All of your data will still be there when you reactivate your Messenger. However, other users will not access your information while your Messenger is deactivated.
How To Deactivate a Messenger Account?
You’ll have to deactivate your Messenger account from your Facebook account. Deactivate it as follows:
- Open the Facebook app on your mobile device.
- Tap on the menu tab in the right corner.
- Tap on the settings icon at the top right.
- Select the “Access and Control” option.
- Tap on “Deactivation and Deletion.”
- Select “Deactivate Account” and follow the on-screen instructions.
Meta will hide your Messenger account once you deactivate it.
How To Pinpoint a Deactivated Messenger Account?
When someone deactivates their Messenger, their profile information will not be available. You can’t also send them messages or call them via Messenger.
Here are the various ways to pinpoint a deactivated Messenger profile.
Method #1: Check Their Profile Picture and Last Active Status
Go to the conversations you shared with them. Tap on their profile picture and check their last active status.
Chances are they deactivated their Messenger if you cannot see their profile information or latest activity on Messenger.
Method #2: Search Them
Try searching for them using Messenger’s search option.
They may have hit the “Deactivate Account” button if you cannot see their profile in the search results.
Method #3: Send a Message
You can’t send messages to a deactivated account on Messenger. Therefore, send them a message.
They could have deactivated their account if you see a “This person is unavailable in Messenger” alert on the chat screen.
Method #4: Try Reacting to Their Previous Messages
Go through your chat history with the person. Check if you can react or one of the messages they sent previously.
They may have hit the “Deactivate Account” button if you can’t leave a reaction to their previous messages.
You will not see a Messenger account or profile information if the account owner deactivates it. You’ll only see “Facebook User.” You’ll still see the texts you sent them, but you can’t send messages to a deactivated account.
Deactivating a Messenger account only disables it temporarily. You can always reactivate it since Meta doesn’t delete your data when you deactivate Messenger. A re-login will get you back to your Messenger account.
Yes, you can. If someone blocks you on Messenger, you won’t see their profile or send them messages. You can also send them a message. An undelivered message means the person did block you.